Graduate Program

Postgraduate Programs

The department offers different postgraduate courses:

  1. Higher Diploma 

The Department offers a one year diploma course.

2. Master Degree in Physics (M.Sc.)

This consists of taught courses and a research project. The normal duration is 2 years.

The courses taught are: Advanced quantum mechanics, Advanced solid state physics, medical physics, semiconductor physics, radiation physics, advanced nuclear physics, biophysics, nanoscience, material science and laser physics.

3. Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

This is obtained by research only for a period of 3 years.

The current research interests at the Physics Department include theoretical high energy physics, solid state physics, material science, nanophysics, laser physics and nuclear physics.

 Library and Reference Materials

The Physics Department has its own library that houses over 3,000 books and current issues of life-science journals. The Department also has a computer and internet facilities. University of Khartoum offers wireless and local area internet connections free of charge.

Research Laboratories

X-ray Florescence (XRF)

X-ray Diffraction (XRD)

Neutron Generator

Laser spectroscopy

Mossbauer Spectroscopy

Contact us

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

FacebookGoogle plusTwitterinstagramlinkedinresearchgatescholaryoutube