Department of Physics

We do our best to provide our students with fundamental knowledge in physics necessay to allow them to cope with current advancement in technology and scientific research.

Undergraduate Programs:

B.Sc. Honours in Physics
Is earned in five years. The courses are taught modules including for example lectures and experiments. Student assessment is based on written examinations, year work (including field study), and laboratory examinations.

Examples of courses taught in fifth year are: Quantum mechanics 2, Statistical mechanics 2, Solid state physics, Elementary particle physics, and Mathematical Methods.
Degree courses in Physics are organized into modules and are taught as lectures, practical, field study, discussion groups and seminars. All modules are examined by course assessments and/or examinations. Additionally there may be examinations integrating practical and written material from the various modules.
Many of Physics Honours students won prizes and scholarships such as the University of Khartoum prize, M. O. Taha prize in physics, TWAS and other prizes for young scientists.

You can access information about our postgraduate programmes here