Department of Physics

Department of Physics

About Physics Department

Department’s mission:

We do our best to provide our students with fundamental knowledge in physics necessay to allow them to cope with current advancement in technology and scientific research.

Undergraduate Programs

B.Sc. Honours in Physics

Is earned in five years. The courses are taught modules including for example lectures and experiments. Student assessment is based on written examinations, year work (including field study), and laboratory examinations.

Examples of courses taught in fifth year are: Quantum mechanics 2, Statistical mechanics 2, Solid state physics, Elementary particle physics, and Mathematical Methods.  

Degree courses in Physics are organized into modules and are taught as lectures, practical, field study, discussion groups and seminars. All modules are examined by course assessments and/or examinations. Additionally there may be examinations integrating practical and written material from the various modules.

Many of Physics Honours students won prizes and scholarships such as the University of Khartoum prize, M. O. Taha prize in physics, TWAS and other prizes for young scientists.

Postgraduate Programs

The department offers different postgraduate courses:

  1. Higher Diploma 

The Department offers a one year diploma course.

2. Master Degree in Physics (M.Sc.)

This consists of taught courses and a research project. The normal duration is 2 years.

The courses taught are: Advanced quantum mechanics, Advanced solid state physics, medical physics, semiconductor physics, radiation physics, advanced nuclear physics, biophysics, nanoscience, material science and laser physics.

3. Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

This is obtained by research only for a period of 3 years.

The current research interests at the Physics Department include theoretical high energy physics, solid state physics, material science, nanophysics, laser physics and nuclear physics.

 Library and Reference Materials

The Physics Department has its own library that houses over 3,000 books and current issues of life-science journals. The Department also has a computer and internet facilities. University of Khartoum offers wireless and local area internet connections free of charge.

Research Laboratories

X-ray Florescence (XRF)

X-ray Diffraction (XRD)

Neutron Generator

Laser spectroscopy

Mossbauer Spectroscopy

Current Teaching Staff 

The department consists of 6 Associate Professors, 3 Assistant Professors, & 10 lecturers, for a list of all staff at the Department of Physics and their specialities, Please go here .

News and Events

زيارةالبرفسير اعظم ايرجى زاد مديرة معهد علوم وتكنولوجيا النانو بجامعة شريف التكنولوجية

Contact Us

Address: Physics Department, Faculty of Science, University of Khartoum, P. O .Box 321

Postal Code 11115 SUDAN

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


Contact us

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

FacebookGoogle plusTwitterinstagramlinkedinresearchgatescholaryoutube

You are here: Home Department of Physics